I am a Professor in the field of Experimental Physics at the Department of Physics at the University of Duisburg-Essen. My research interest focuses on the application of in-situ and time-resolved electron microscopy at surfaces, with the goal to investigate and understand dynamic processes at atomically controlled surfaces. For instance, some of my research deals with

  • Spatially resolved decay dynamics of excited electrons after excitation with femtosecond laser pulses.
  • Growth dynamics of thin films, organic semiconductors, and graphene
  • Electromigration in self-assembled nanostructures
  • Diffusion Dynamics and Self-Assembly
  • Metal-induced Faceting


a Google Scholar based list of publications with their citations can be found here.

Curriculum Vitae

Current Position

apl. Professor
Faculty of Physics
University of Duisburg-Essen

Academic Training
10/1989 - 02/1996 Physics major at the University of Hannover,
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. M. Henzler
Scientific Qualifications
09/2015 apl. Professor (Experimental Physics)
University of Duisburg-Essen

Habilitation (Experimental Physics)
University of Duisburg Essen;
Topic: "Frontiers of In-Situ and Time-Resolved Surface Electron Microscopy"

06/1999 Dr. rer. nat. (summa cum laude);
Institut für Festkörperphysik, University of Hannover
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. M. Horn-von Hoegen
since 12/2008 Akademischer Oberrat (Universität Duisburg Essen)
01/2005 - 11/2008 Akademischer Rat (Universität Duisburg Essen)
08/2003 - 01/2005 Akademischer Rat z.A. (Universität Duisburg Essen)
03/2002 - 08/2003 Assistant (Universität Duisburg Essen)
02/2000 - 04/2002 Feodor-Lynen Fellow of the Humboldt Foundation and Postdoc
(IBM Research, Yorktown Heights, NY)
Further Information

Center of Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen (CENIDE)
German Physical Society (DPG),
Deutscher Hochschulverband (DHV)

Awards and Honors:

Gottschalk Diederich Baedeker Price 2011
Member of the „Global Young Faculty“ (2009)
Feodor-Lynen Fellow of the Humboldt Foundation (2000-2002)